For JD – WHY I have tattoos.

15 11 2008

You asked, here it is.  I’m not editing or using proper grammar or anything here.. just typing it as it comes out of my brain.  Lol.

I have 5 tattoos.  I got 3 of them before I was 18 and the story behind that is pretty stupid.  When I was 14 I got into the whole goth/punk scene, which wasn’t popular at the time.  I didn’t know anyone who had a tattoo either, except older people (by older I mean, not in high school).  I wanted to get my eyebrow pierced, and this was still semi-taboo at the time, too.  This was the mid-90s and eyebrow, tongue, and multi-earlobe piercings were becoming increasingly popular.  “Tramp stamps” aka, lower back tattoos, weren’t “in” yet either.

I begged my parents to let me get my eyebrow pierced.  I begged and begged.  Keep in mind, I’m 14.  They, of course, said No.  More like, “No way in hell!” This lasted a few months, and then I changed my mind and wanted my tongue pierced.  My parents felt vindicated that I had changed my mind and realized that I would change it again, so they just kept saying no.

My aunt, at this time, was into tats.  She got like 6-7 tattoos over a few months time.  I thought a tattoo might be cool, but I figured if they wouldn’t let me get a piercing, which can be removed and healed over, then I wouldn’t even bother asking for a tat.

One day, my aunt was over and she and my dad were talking about tattoos.  My dad decided he would get a tattoo of Jesus.  My dad looks like a biker with a ZZ Top beard, and now a tattoo of Jesus?  Ugh.  Okay, so my dad gets this tattoo.  Whatever. Lol.

A few weeks later, I’m telling my dad about the benefits of a piercing (just making crap up) and he says.. “Why don’t you get a tattoo instead?”  Now, my dad doesn’t do drugs but I thought for sure he was on something right then.  I took advantage of it.

Walt, my tattoo artist, refused to tattoo me until I was 15 with parental consent.  On my 15th birthday, my dad and my aunt took me and I got a tattoo of a tree frog.  I liked frogs a lot, and it has somewhat of a personal story.  I won’t go into it, but when I was 13 I went to a missionary school in FL and got shit on by a bunch of tree frogs.  Needless to say, they are pretty but not very nice.  I should have had a turd tattooed under the damn thing.

Okay, I’m sure you’ve heard, but tattoos are addicting.  It’s like drugs.  I was already planning my next one before the first one healed.  I got 2 more tats before my 18th birthday.  I also got my lip and clit pierced when I was 17 by some weirdo with a mullet who didn’t require parental consent.  In his defense, he did a good job.

Anyway, the 2 next tattoos I got were small, and honestly, pretty dumb.  They were just “pretty” things that I liked.

Fast foward to April 2006.  I’m 21 and I’ve been in the Army for a couple years.  I’m in Iraq, and I decide I want another tattoo.  This time though, I want something special.  My dad is an artist.  Not professionally anymore, but he does it on the side sometimes.  He is outstanding.  Anyway, I give my dad some vague details about what I want.  It’s very personal, but for the most part I just tell people that I wanted a piece of art by my father forever, so I got it tattooed on me.  I make it a big one too.  I come home on leave from Iraq, and I go and get this big ass tattoo on my arm.  I have to do it all at once because I don’t have enough time for it to heal and then come back and get it finished.  It took 6 hours.  Ouch.

I had a daughter in June of 2007.  6 days after I gave birth, I got her name tattooed between my shoulderblades.  They usually make you wait, but the guy who did it (not Walt – mistake!) figured I could handle it.  I did, but your senses are so heightened after birth that it was about 10x more painful than it should’ve been!

Here are a couple pictures:

My arm – shortly after it was finished-

My daughter’s name:

This is actually a picture of my back.  Lol.  I’m white as hell, but the flash on the camera made me invisible.

As far as my other tats, I don’t have any pics handy and I’m too lazy to take any.

Will I get more tats in the future?  Yes.  I have 1 more small one that I want to get, if I can talk my husband into letting me.  I also need someone who can speak/write fluently in Arabic before I can get it.  Besides that one, I plan to get all of my children’s names put on here somewhere.

Do I regret my stupid tattoos?  Yes and no.  If I could go back, I probably would’ve gotten something else, but I don’t regret it.  Notice that I said something ELSE.  I still would’ve gotten a tat.  It just reminds me of a different time when I was a different person.

Anyway – hopefully that helps give you some perspective.

-Abby

Actions

Information

6 responses

15 11 2008
delaney55

Love the arm tattoo! Your dad did a great job on designing it.

15 11 2008
jdhays

Wpw, Abby, those are awesome tattoos. I agree that your dad is a great artist. And now you are walking art. With a cool remembrance of your dad in the bargain. I believe you are in fact, whiter than I am, and that’s pretty white. How cool is that to have your daughter’s name done like that?! Awesome post. Love the stream of consciousness! OK, I’m beginning to get it now. But as for that clit-piercing….there are some mysteries to life best left unsolved.

15 11 2008
Abby

@JD –
LOL. I don’t know WHAT I was thinking. Honestly, it didn’t hurt at all! It just felt like someone pinched me and then it was over. I only wore it for about a year, and took it out because I joined the military and it was just too difficult to keep clean when sometimes we didn’t shower for 3-4 days!

15 11 2008
jdhays

Oh, one other thing. You said you were in the army. And earlier said you spend some time in Central Texas. In my experience that would probably put you somewhere around the Killeen-Belton Metroplex. That area of the state does suck pretty hard. Take field trips. Often.

15 11 2008
Abby

You nailed it. Been in Ft Hood/Killeen since 04!

1 12 2008
info resep

nice tattoo

Leave a Reply

